Indian Institute of Chemical Engineers Calcutta 700 032

Ref. No. SVS/AGM-2019/ 06.02.2020

MINUTES OF THE SEVENTY-SECOND ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Venue: IIT Delhi, New Delhi Date & Time: 17.12.2019; 18.30 hr.

Members Present

49 (Forty-nine) Corporate Members were present (List enclosed).

Prof S V Satyanarayana, President of the Institute for 2019, chaired the meeting and called the meeting to order.

0.0 Condolence

Prof S V Satyanarayana informed receipt of the communication during the year in regards to the passing away of the following members:

Dr B D Kulkarni (HF 22498), Mr S C Pujari (LM 14158). Mr Satish Makhija (LM 10730), Mr B K Mukherjee (LM 05004), Mr P Ramachandra Rao (LM 01308), Prof T K Ghose (LM 00095), Dr T K Roy (LF 00150), Mr Swaminathan (LM 00568), Mr J Das (LM 05594), Prof K C Sadangi (LAM 03945 and Prof S L Narayanamurthy (LM 00989).

The members observed silence of one minute to pay homage to the departed souls of the above mentioned members.

He also informed that condolence messages had been sent to the families of the departed members with due regards to the departed soul.

1. Confirmation of the minutes of the Seventy-first Annual General Meeting of the Institute held on 28.12.2018 at National Institute of Technology, Jalandhar

The minutes of the 71st (Seventy-first) Annual General Meeting held on December 28, 2018 at National Institute of Technology as circulated on November 16, 2019 by Prof Amitava Bandyopadhyay, Honorary Secretary, were confirmed, as proposed by Dr K A Badrinarayan and seconded by Mr Sanjay Bhardwaj.

2. Adoption of the minutes of the proceedings of the last Extra Ordinary General Meeting (EGM) held on 17th October, 2019 at Ankleshwar

The meeting adopted the minutes of the EGM of the Institute, held on October 17, 2019 at SRICT, Ankleshwar as circulated on Novemer 16, 2019, were confirmed subject to the decision that would be taken by a committee (comprising Mr. Shaym Bang, Prof Vinay K Srivasatava, Mr Praven Saxena, Prof N Balasubramanian and Mr S I Thakar) which was constituted during the meeting.

Prof Vinay K Srivastava suggested the following:

- The issue of separate Pan Number for each RC would be elaborately discussed in the next year Council Meeting.
- Audited Annual Accounts submitted by the Regional Centre should be accompanied by tax amount, without tax amount, the audited accounts would not be accepted.
- An expert committee might be formed at HQ for GST related issues.

3. Consideration and Adoption of the Annual Report for 2018-2019 (from 01.04.2018 to 31.03.2019) and Adoption of Audited Statement of Accounts of the Institute for the year ended 31st March 2019

The meeting unanimously adopted the Annual Report of the Institute.

After some deliberations, the meeting adopted the Audited Statement of Accounts of the Institute unanimously, as proposed by Mr Dhawal Saxena and seconded by Prof Vinay K Srivastava.

- **3.1** Members decided that the honorarium for the CDS speakers will be transfer to their Bank account directly after the CHEMCON to avoid the inconvenience in the cheque payment.
- 3.2. Members decided to take expert opinion to close the suit file case which is running for long time by IIChE.
- 4. Decision on suspension order in the AGM 2018 (Dehradun, Damanjodi, Dhanbad, Durgapur, Goa, Kalpakkam (30.11.2019), Paradeep and Pondicherry (19.11.2019) which have not submitted Annual Report and A/c for the year 2018-19

The Council in its 5th meeting for 2019 recommended to follow up with RCs and suggested for suspension of RCs till they have not submitted their annual reports and audited accounts duly signed by the office bearers of the Center by November 05, 2019.

The members thereafter decided to revoke suspension order from Kalpakkam and Pondicherry Regional Centres as they have submitted the annual accounts. .

The members also decided that all other defaulting Regional Centre(s) would be suspended and their Bank A/c. (s) would be sealed till the submission of the Annual Report and Audited statement of A/c. by the Regional Centre(s) in prescribed format. The members further decided that the Chairman, Honorary Secretary and Treasurer of the defaulting centres should be suspended from IIChE till the account accepted by the IIChE account department in all respect.

5. Decision on action in respect of audited accounts from Mangalore Regional Centre

Members noted that though the audited accounts was received from Mangalore Regional Centre yet their accounts were not countersigned by the then Chairman. Members suggested that HQ should follow up this issue with the office bearers of Mangalore RC for obtaining signed accounts.

6. Appointment of Auditors for the financial year 2019-2020 and fixation of their remuneration

The members decided that the Council for 2020 in the 2nd meeting should take the final decision.

7. Announcement of the names of the new members elected to the Council for 2020 in the vacancies caused by retirement

The following names of the newly elected Council members for the period 2020-2022.

East Zone	Dr Avijit Ghosh		
North Zone	Prof Anil K Saroha		
	Dr M K Jha		
South Zone	Dr M V Rao		
	Dr C Karthikeyan		
West Zone	Prof N M Surana		

8. Any other matter(s)

Prof. Vinay Kumar Srivastava, Immediate Past President made a proposal that a nominal nomination fees of Rs 5,000/- per nomination should be charged from Council Election 2020. After long deliberations, the members present decided that the new Council for 2020 in its 2nd meeting would take a final decision in this regard.

The Members welcomed the elected members for joining the New Council.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to Chair.

Prof. S V Satyanarayana Chairman & President IIChE

Honorary Secretary

List of Corporate Members Present

SI.	Name	Membership	SI.	Name	Membership
No.		No.	No.		No.
1	Badrinarayana K A	LM 22739	26	Naik S C	LF 01720
2	Balasubramanian N	LM 27085	27	Pal Tapotanay	LM 66058
3	Bansal Ajay	LF 11337	28	Pant K K	LF 09309
4	Basava Rao V V	LM 11006	29	Paramanand	LAM 66749
5	Bhardwaj Sanjay	LM 56227	30	Patel Mahendra A	LM 35101
6	Butala D M	LM 03368	31	Pokale S Shashikant	LM 15602
7	Chakravarty S N	LF 10168	32	Prasad T L	LF 09599
8	Chaudhuri S K	LM 04567	33	Radhakrishnan K B	LM 20961
9	Das S K	LM 08450	34	Rajasimman M	LM 26997
10	Deb Barma Santosh	LAM 57421	35	Ranga Rao M	LM 09037
11	Eswaraiah C	LF - 42288	36	Rao D P	LM 04959
12	Ghosh Avijit	LM 50202	37	Ratnam G S V	LM 10189
13	Ghosh Sandip	LM 32074	38	Rattan Gaurav	LM 31348
14	Gupta S K	LM 19814	39	Rattan V K	LF 04433
15	Jain Ashok Kumar	LM 54688	40	Sapkal V S	LM 29723
16	Jain M P	LM 08262	41	Saroha Anil K	LF 27776
17	Jha M K	LF 09764	42	Satyanarayana S V	LM 13584
18	Kaul P L	LM 03110	43	Saxena Dhawal	LM 43343
19	Katti Sanjeev	LF - 20067	44	Saxena Praveen	LF 24415
20	Koteswara Rao M	LM 07691	45	Srivastava Vinay K	LF 07839
21	Kumar Kisalay	LAM 60839	46	Srivastava V K	LF 09483
22	Kumari Anita	LM 13544	47	Surana N M	LM 09108
23	Mahapatra A	LM 20164	48	Venkataswamy J	LM 46087
24	Maheshwari D D	LM 13524	49	Venkateswara Rao M	LM 06492
25	Mandal Bishnupada	LM 21472			